Round 1 with a slow cooker!


Crockpot Chicken CacciatoreI have been completely unaware of what I have been missing.  I’ve never once cooked with a slow cooker, and I’ve successfully completed my first attempt.  I was gifted my first slow cooker for Christmas, and I almost made a big no-no when I opened the package.  Like with most appliances, I assume that they are easy and don’t require a look at the directions; so, I plugged the bad boy in, turned it on high and began to get my ingredients ready to throw in.  I noticed immediately, that the cooker had a very strange smell to it after it was turned on.  I was afraid that the food would taste like the metal smell, and so I decided maybe I should dig the instructions out of the trash and figure out what was going on.  I read the instructions and realized that you have to leave it on for twenty minutes with water inside, before use.  Thank goodness that I read the instructions, or else my meal would’ve been ruined.  For my first go around, I would say this was a really good meal.  The chicken was added whole, and it ended up coming out so tender that it would fall a part when touched with a fork.  I loosely followed this recipe loosely.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Ingredients

6 chicken tenderloins (3 chicken breasts)
Salt & Pepper
1/4 cup red wine
2 tablespoons capers
1 onion, chopped
1 pound fresh mushrooms, thickly sliced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 cup chicken broth
2 tablespoons tomato paste
1 can diced tomatoes, undrained
Parsley flakes
Oregano
Basil
2 tablespoons cornstarch

1. Add your chicken, wine, capers, onions, mushrooms, garlic, chicken broth, tomato paste, diced tomatoes, and seasoning to the crock pot.  Set on low and cook for 7 to 9 hours, or high for 4 or 5 hours.
2. 20 minutes before serving time, use a large spoon and scoop out about 1/2 cup worth of just the juice.  Add the cornstarch in and stir until no clumps.  Add the cornstarch/juice mixture to the crock pot, stir, and then allow to thicken.
3. Serve over rice or noodles.  I used egg noodles.

64979CB5-D888-4372-B464-C4F765A1FF26-2695-000000D301D76B17

Leave a Reply

