Whole Wheat Apple Muffins


When I’m home alone, and no one is around, I kind of come up at a loss for things to do.  I kind of just stand around and think about what I should be doing.  Yesterday, I was in this predicament so while I was standing around thinking about what I should be doing, my eye caught the apples on the counter and I decided to make it my mission to bake something with apples.  Wah-la, the whole wheat apple muffins.  I found this great recipe online and used this as my base recipe and played with it a little.

Whole Wheat Apple Muffins

Ingredients

2 cups whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon cinnamon
1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature (or nuked in the microwave for 15 seconds)
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup dark brown sugar
1 egg
1 cup skim milk
2 large apples, peeled, cored and coarsely chopped

Directions

1.  Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Mix together the butter, sugar, and 1/4 cup brown sugar.  Beat until fluffy.  Add in the egg and mix well.  Mix in the milk.  Slow begin to stir in the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon.  Then slowly fold in the apple chunks.

2.  Divide the batter evenly among muffin cops and sprinkle the remaining tops with 1/4 cup brown sugar (do not leave this part out, it completely makes or  breaks the muffin for me).  Bake for 10 minutes, turn heat down to 400 and bake about another five minutes.  Cool the muffins on a cooling rack.

Leave a Reply

