Baked Potato + Mashed Potato = Twice Baked Potato


My herbs are growing so big!  I’m so nervous when it comes to pinching them off, but my mom assures me that I need to so my roots will be strong.  So, this is the last picture of them before I begin to start using them in my recipes.  I’ve created a new page specifically for my Herb Update!  You can scroll through and see the process of their growth and I will add each recipe that I use them in on that page as well.  My basil seeds are starting to come out of the soil and it is so exciting!  I was beginning to get really discouraged because everyone told me seeds were going to be really hard, but *fingers crossed* I hope mine grow.  I’ve got a few buds coming up already and I’m even more excited to showcase the growth of those.

Yesterday, my boy and I had a great night in the house.  We played some Wii and cooked an amazing dinner.  Some edamame, pork loin and twice baked potatoes.  Twice baked potatoes is like getting the best of both worlds.  You get the taste of the skin of the potato with the texture of the mashed potato!  So delicious, and I hope everyone else enjoys these as much as I did.  Next time I’ll post the pork loin recipe that I made with these!

Twice Baked Potatoes

(Recipe courtesy of Food Network Kitchens)

Ingredients

4 large russet potatoes, scrubbed and dried
2 to 4 tablespoons unsalted butter
1/3 sour cream
1 scallion, finely chopped
Nutmeg
1/2 cup shredded sharp cheddar
Salt & Pepper

1.  Preheat the over to 400 degree and place the potatoes on the rack in the center of the oven and bake for 30 minutes.  After 30 minutes, pierce the potato several times with a fork and continue to bake another 30 minutes.  Remove potatoes from the oven and turn the heat down to 375.

2.  Hold the potato with an oven-mit or towl and trim the top off the potatoes.  Reserve the tops.

3.  Carefully scoop out most of the potato into a bowl.  Take care to leave enough potato in the skin so the shells stay together.

4.  Mash the potato lightly with a fork along with 2 to 3 tablespoons of the butter and the 1/3 cup of sour cream.  Stir in the scallion, nutmeg, and season with salt & pepper.  Season the skins with salt and pepper.

5.  Refill the shells with the potato mixture mounding it slightly.  Sprinkle the cheese on top of the potato filling.  Add a nice spoon full of butter on top and season with salt and pepper.

6.  Set the potatoes and lids on baking sheet and back for another 20 minutes.

* Sorry that it seems I’ve only been posting about potatoes lately.  I Just realized this when I was posting this last picture.  Guess I’ve been on a potato kick? 😛

2 thoughts on “Baked Potato + Mashed Potato = Twice Baked Potato

  1. Pingback: Thick Pork Chops « The Pint Size Chef

Leave a Reply

