Potato killed the egg


Lame title, huh?  I couldn’t think of anything else original for this meal.  Eggs in purgatory is already taken and potato hash is too boring.
Anyway, I’m super excited because I planted my herbs into their pots last night!

My mom pulled up some of her chives for me and we decided on planting the basil in its own pot.  Obviously it looks just like dirt now, but the seeds will grow eventually!  I’ll post pictures as it starts to grow.  I’m really excited to document the growth of my herbs with you guys!

This morning my boyfriend and I were starving and I’ve been seeing a million different posts with the potatoes and eggs in the middle.  I have been really wanting to try it, and so we did!  We resisted the temptation of McDonald’s breakfast and donuts and ate some yummy breakfast at home.

Ingredients

Russet potatoes
Onion
Nature’s Seasoning
Cilantro*
Sausage
Egg
EVOO
Salt

*I can’t wait till I can use my fresh cilantro with this!

Directions

1.  Heat a pan over medium heat with the EVOO.  Meanwhile, cut the potatoes into little less than bite size chunks, and add them in.  I then just took some sausage patties and cut them up and added them in.  It made for a great flavor.  (Bacon/turkey bacon would be good as well!)  Then cut the onion in small chops and add them in as well.  Season with the Nature’s Seasoning, Cilantro, and salt.  Let them cook covered for about 10-15 minutes.  Stir a lot or they will begin to stick.

2.  About half way through I added some more EVOO and more seasoning.  The EVOO will need to be added to make sure once the eggs are in, they won’t stick (since you can’t really stir it with the eggs in.)

3.  Make a small little hole in the potatoes where you want to put your eggs.

4.  Crack the eggs into each little hole you made, and cover and cook until the whites harden.

When I made this I let the eggs firm up a little too much, so if you want them not to be runny cook them for about 6 minutes and if you want them to still be runny cook for 3.  Next time we are going to make them runny.

One thought on “Potato killed the egg

Leave a comment