Pasta & Velveeta


After a not-so-successful day of preparing for finals and a successful job interview, I did not feel like cooking anything extravagant.  Especially because there was no one here to enjoy the meal with me.  I can’t even believe the words “I did not feel like cooking” came out of my mouth, but they did.  I did, in fact, feel like blogging though, so I just had to make something.  Tonight I kind of went through our cabinets and refrigerator and made a pasta dish with the leftover Velveeta from the Chicken Enchiladas last night.

Pasta & Velveeta

1 cup penne noodles
1/4 lb. of Polska Kielbasa, cut lengthwise and then into small pieces
1 yellow pepper (or any other color you choose), chopped
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1/4 onion, chopped
1/2 tomato, chopped
1 teaspoon Italian seasoning
1/2 teaspoon of crushed red pepper
1/4 lb. of Velveeta
1/4 cup of milk
1 tablespoon of butter
Extra virgin olive oil

  1. Cook pasta as directed on box.
  2. Add extra virgin olive oil to a pan and allow to heat up.  Once heated up, add the minced garlic.  Stir it around for 30 seconds and then add in the yellow pepper and onion.  Season with crushed red pepper and Italian seasoning.
  3. Allow vegetables to cook until the onion is tender and no longer has a bite to it.  Then add in the polska kielbasa.  Lower the heat.
  4. Once the pasta is done, drain it and use the pan that it was cooked in to make the cheese sauce.  Add the butter, Velveeta, and milk.  Then cook over medium-high heat, constantly stirring.  Once the cheese is completely melted, add to the vegetable mixture.
  5. Then add the noodles with the cheese and vegetables, and then turn heat off.  Once heat is off, add in the tomatoes.  This dish is much better if you keep the tomatoes not-cooked.

——What is your go-to dish when you don’t feel like cooking?——
I’m beginning to feel like there is no one out there!  So give me some feedback if you are reading this!  Even if you didn’t like what you read.  Just let me know someone is there. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Pasta & Velveeta

  1. This looks good! Total comfort food.

    My go-to dish for nights when I’m feeling “blah” is generally stir-fry. It’s fast, easy, and happens all in one pan, so it doesn’t have a lot of clean-up. It’s also a good way to use up any veggies that have already been in the fridge for a few days and I’m concerned about them going bad, since you can basically mix anything into a stir-fry and it’ll come out delicious.

    • Stir-fry! That’s a good one! Stir-fry is a great way to use up some leftover veggies or take advatange of some yummy frozen assorted veggies! I burned myself out with stir-fry, my first semester of college (when I actually stayed in the dorms, instead of paying for a dorm and still staying at home) I cooked that constantly. It is so cheap and easy to make.

      I’m glad you enjoyed the dish by the way! And thank you so much for commenting! 🙂 It makes my day.

  2. Yes, someone is out there…
    Thanks for stopping by Savoring Today too! Don’t really use velveeta anymore, try to stay with real cheese, I think you’d like it better and if you are looking for that “bite” or something more salty like velveeta, try some feta instead. I will often sprinkle feta and fresh tomatoes over a pasta dish right before serving and it really makes a difference.

    Keep cooking and sharing your passion … savor every day!

    • Thank you for the tip! I used it because I was kind of stuck with it in my cabinet, and I’m kind of new to the explorations of cheeses. I don’t know what cheese is good for what type of meal or anything of the sort, but I think I need to start looking into that one!

      Thanks for the comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

