Cream cheese in my enchilada?


After having not-so-successful enchiladas at a friend’s house a few weeks ago, I was determined to set my boyfriend’s mind back on track in thinking that enchiladas are delicious!  Some reason I have been stuck on a Mexican kick lately, and I’m not complaining!  Much better than my Soy Sauce kick that I got stuck on two years ago.  It is so amazing how many different things cream cheese can be used for, and I would never imagine using it in an enchilada.  I was completely turned off by this recipe when I read that there was cream cheese, of all things, in it.  But, it turns out the cream cheese makes the dish and is a spectacular pair with the chicken.

Yesterday evening, my boyfriend and I took over some yummy ingredients and cooked for my Nana and Pappy!  They were completely thrilled that someone came and cooked for them and my Nana ate her whole plate (which is very rare for her).  Take my Nana’s word, this recipe is to die for!

Cream Cheese Chicken Enchiladas

Cooking spray
2 cups chopped chicken
1 cup chopped red bell pepper (green is good too)
1/2 cup chopped onion
1 jar (16 oz) of salsa
(I prefer Pace for this dish because it isn’t too watery)
1 package (8 oz) cream cheese
8 flour tortillas
3/4 lb. Velveeta Cheese product
1/4 cup of milk
1/2 tablespoon of EVOO (extra virgin olive oil)
sour cream (optional)

  1. Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray 3-quart rectangular baking dish with no-stick cooking spray, set dish aside.
  2. In medium saucepan add EVOO and add chopped chicken.  Lightly season with salt and pepper (it doesn’t need much more spice than that, if I weren’t cooking for my grandparents I would’ve added some crushed red pepper).
  3. After chicken is cooked completely through add in onion and bell pepper; allow to cook until the vegetables become tender.  Then add in the whole package of cream cheese.  Mix the cream cheese around so it is evenly spread (keep stirring, it will be clumped for a few seconds) and then add in 1/2 cup of salsa.
  4. Spoon about 1/3 cup of the chicken mixture into the center of each tortilla.  Roll up the tortilla and place it in the greased pan with folded side down.
  5. In the same pan that you used to cook the chicken, add the Velveeta cheese and the milk.  Stir constantly and do not let sit at all or it will burn.  Take off heat as soon as all cheese as melted and add it on top of the enchiladas.  (I’d suggest quickly putting the pan  you used to cook the cheese under water or the cheese will harden very quickly).
  6. Bake in heated oven COVERED for 20 to 25 minutes.  The tortillas should be a little bit hard; hard enough for you to take them out of the dish without them falling apart.
  7. Top with salsa and sour cream!

——Do you ever get stuck on a specific ingredient or type of food and constantly cook it?  Please tell me I’m not alone!!——

4 thoughts on “Cream cheese in my enchilada?

  1. Oh I love the addition of the cream cheese to your enchiladas, great idea.
    And yes I have been on a fish thing lately, anything that comes out of the water we have been eating lately. Hubby says he is starting to feel scaly, haha. Just so good for you and cooks so quickly not like a roast or chicken, I can have dinner on the table in under 20 minutes.

    • I’m glad you like the idea!

      I wish I liked fish! I’ve tried so hard to enjoy it, but I just can’t stand the flavor. Do you have any great recipes that I can try that aren’t too “fishy” tasting?

  2. A friend just recommended using cream cheese instead of milk in eggs and I tried it. I wouldn’t do it everytime I’m making scrambled eggs, but from time to time it’s a really neat change. I think I want to try it once when I’m making fried chicken tenders to see how it changes the flavor.

    • Wow! I never even thought of that. I honestly have never put milk in my scrambled eggs but I’m going to have to try it next time. I dont cook much breakfast. Just not exciting to me!

      Cream cheese is such a diverse igredient. It can be used for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and desert!

Leave a Reply

