Be inspired by others.


Tip:  Keep dried herbs and other spices handy.  Don’t ever run out.

Even though dry herbs don’t give quite the same fresh and zesty flavor as fresh herbs, they are still super useful to have around.  Tonight, I couldn’t wait to cook but I didn’t have anything planned.  Usually when I have nothing planned, I end up falling back on something that is comfortable for me.  On my comfort days I never reach out and try new things.  Surprisingly as I was looking through a blog, that provides me with inspiration every morning, I saw this amazing recipe and thought “man I wish I could cook this right now” and I was able to because I had all of the spices handy in my cabinet!  I just substituted some of the frozen vegetables for fresh vegetables and WA-LAH, a delicious meal.

Balsamic Vinegar Chicken with Fresh Veggies

3/4 teaspoon salt, divided
3/4 teaspoon fennel seeds, crushed
1/2 teaspoon black pepper, divided
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon lemon pepper (if you have it)
1/2 teaspoon of rubbed sage
6 chicken tenderloins (or 2 tenderloins per person)
2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
Cooking spray
1 green pepper
1/2 cup thinly sliced onion
1 teaspoon rosemary
1 cup fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar

1.  Preheat oven to 450°.
2.  Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat.
3.  Combine 1/2 teaspoon salt, fennel seeds, 1/4 teaspoon black pepper, garlic powder, and oregano.
4.  Brush chicken with 1 1/2 teaspoons oil; sprinkle spice rub over chicken.  Add 1 1/2 teaspoons oil to pan.  Add chicken; cook 6 to 8 minutes or until browned:  Flipping every minute or so.
5.  Arrange chicken in an 11 x 7–inch baking dish coated with cooking spray. Bake at 450° for 7 minutes.
6.  Heat remaining olive oil over medium-high heat. Add bell peppers, onion, and rosemary; saute 3 minutes.
7.  Stir in broth, scraping pan to loosen browned bits.
8.  Reduce heat; simmer 5 minutes. Increase heat to medium-high. Stir in vinegar, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper; cook 3 minutes, stirring frequently. Serve bell pepper mixture over chicken.

I paired this amazing recipe with some instant white rice.  Very quick meal.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Note:  Every time I make a new dish for my dad and boyfriend I ask them what they rate it on a scale of 1 to 10 and my dad gave this one a 9.  Which is very unusual for him because I usually get 8.  He is always my toughest critic, always something to improve.  Of course, the smart boyfriend, gives me a 10.  He gets some yummy cookies tomorrow for that one.

2 thoughts on “Be inspired by others.

Leave a Reply

