Lunch for one, please?


Tip:  Don’t think that you aren’t good enough to cook something that sounds fancy.

After having a horrible morning with no breakfast, I really wanted something yummy.  I wanted it made fast and I wanted it to be simple.  I decided that to help cure my really horrible morning, I’d make some Polska Kielbasa with Marsala Sauce.  When I first read a recipe that included Marsala wine, I was completely turned off.  I thought only fancy dancy people could cook with wines.  The idea of cooking wine was nasty to me, and I had told myself I’d never be adventurous enough to try it.  I was served a meal with Marsala wine once at a friends house, and went home and immediately looked up a bunch of recipes.  I ended up creating a simple lunchtime dish on my own.

I’ve mentioned Polska Kielbasa before, but I’ve never fully introduced it.  It is a wonderful meat that is sold by the hot dogs.  It is very yummy and so easy to cook.  It goes with all different types of pastas and it is my go to meat, especially when I’m in a hurry because it doesn’t take much to make it tasty.

Polska Kielbasa with Marsala Sauce and noodles

Polska Kielbasa (I used a 1/4 of a piece and cut it down the middle and then into small bites)
1/4 cup of Marsala wine
1/2 tablespoon of corn starch
2 garlic cloves, diced
1/4 of an onion (cut into long thing pieces)
1 tablespoon olive oil
Angel hair noodles

1.  Prepare your noodles as directed.
2.  Heat the oil in a pan and add the diced up garlic pieces.  Allow to sizzle for a few seconds and then add in onion.  Allow the onion to become very soft and tender.  Then add in the polska kielbasa.  (Side Note:  The thing that allows this meal to be so quick is that polska kielbasa is pre-cooked, so you don’t have to cook it all the way).
3.  Meanwhile stir together the Marsala wine with your cornstarch and add it to the pan with the polska kielbasa and the onions, allow to thicken.  It will be come very much like a paste.
4.  Add the meat mixture on top of noodles.

Leave a Reply

