Who says you need a cookie cutter?


Cookie cutters aren’t needed to create the perfect cookie.  All you need is your hands to make a perfect cookie.

Sugar cookies are something I just recently decided to tackle.  I was at home on a Wednesday night doing laundry before I went back up to school and I really wanted to bake.  I walked into the kitchen and found out that we had no chocolate chips to make chocolate chip cookies!  So, I was set on baking something so I thought to myself “what needs the least amount of ingredients?”  Sugar cookies came to my mind.  I’ve never really liked sugar cookies, but my boyfriend will eat anything sweet, so I decided to make them.  These sugar cookies ended up turning out amazingly.  They are perfect with a cold glass of milk.  (Santa knew what he was thinking when he paired cookies with milk!)

Tip:  Don’t think you are too good to follow some instructions of a recipe.  In other words, don’t oil the pan when making cookies.

Many times I will tweak my recipes to cook them however I want to, and I thought that I was good enough to know that everything you bake needs oil underneath it.  So, every single cookie recipe that strictly said DO NOT OIL THE PAN, I did.  The one time I didn’t, my cookies came out perfectly.  Learn when to follow the recipe and when to venture away from it.

Sugar Cookies

Ingredients

  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
  2. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until smooth. Beat in egg and vanilla. Gradually blend in the dry ingredients (flour, baking soda, and baking powder). Roll rounded teaspoonfuls of dough into balls, and place onto ungreased cookie sheets.
  3. Bake 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven, or until golden. Let stand on cookie sheet two minutes before removing to cool on wire racks.
One thought on “Who says you need a cookie cutter?

Leave a Reply

